The Council for Coptic Studies at the Claremont Graduate University School of Arts & Humanities works to create and nourish vibrant, enduring relationships between the Religion Department, the surrounding community, and the Coptic world.


At the core of the council’s vision is the establishment of a center for Coptic studies to promote through research, teaching, and publication a deeper understanding of the Coptic religious experience. In all of its efforts, the council strives to foster opportunities for exploration of the great scope and promise of Coptic Studies as a realm of academic endeavor.

The council believes the benefits of these efforts will extend well beyond their Coptic roots, invigorating scholarship in such diverse areas of inquiry as New Testament studies, iconography, liturgy, ministry, patristics, monasticism, and sacred music.

The council is committed to outreach through conferences, lectureships, and cultural events, and supports its goals with an active capital development campaign. By drawing on the formidable intellectual resources of the Religion Department, its history of excellence in Coptic Studies, and the rich cultural assets of the Coptic community, the Council hopes to cultivate a unique environment that will serve as a focal point for Coptic scholarship within the University and around the world.

With the generous support of funding provided through a Challenge Grant via the National Endowment for the Humanities, the council will be able to continue their invaluable research and scholarship endeavors.

To contribute to these goals, please email S. Michael Saad, chair, Council for Coptic Studies.

2018 Council Members

S. Michael Saad

Vice Chairs
Hany N. Takla
Ramses N. Wassif

Magdi Abdou
Baher N. Boctor
Nabil Elgabalawi
Joseph Fahim
George A. Faragalla
Gawdat Gabra
Mahfouz Gereis
Ashraf W. Hanna
John Isaac
Elhamy F. Khalil
Carolyn Ludwig
Amal Malek
Sarah Mehany Morcos
George S. Raheb
Gabriel B. Raphael
Nicholas A. Riegels
Christina Adel Saad
Nashat B. Saweris
Mark Sedrak
Susanna Khalil Sedrak
Merit Shoucri
Nabil N. Soliman
Ezzat Wassef
Raafat Wassef
Mariam D. Youssef
Moheb Youssef