The social psychology group in the Department of Psychology at CGU calls its colloquium/symposium meetings “Social Socials” because they are doubly social—they are about social psychology and they are a social event that brings together faculty, graduate students, visitors and anyone who is interested in social psychology. We meet every two to three weeks during each semester, usually for an hour at lunch time (12 pm – 1 pm). Everyone with an interest in social psychology is welcome—we provide lunch and informative and interesting speakers on a wide variety of topics in social psychology. Social Socials are a balanced mix of basic and applied scientific presentations from distinguished social psychologists around the world. Each May we look forward to a “thesis fair” where social students who have just completed their master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation tell us about their research.

The Social Socials program is organized and run by a committee of social psychology graduate students: chaired by Ciara Hernandez (ciara.hernandez@cgu.edu), the committee also comprises Kaiyuan Chen (kaiyuan.chen@cgu.edu), Crystal Saludes (crystal.saludes@cgu.edu), Austin Shockley (austin.shockley@cgu.edu), Mary Peterson (mary.peterson@cgu.edu), and Rachelle Webb (rachelle.webb@cgu.edu). The faculty advisor is Professor Michael Hogg (michael.hogg@cgu.edu).

 

2021 – 2022 Schedule

Michael Kraus

September 14, 2021
Michael Kraus, Yale University
“Testing the Efficacy of Three Informational Interventions for Reducing Misperceptions of the Black-White Wealth Gap”

Zachory Hohman

October 18, 2021
Zachary Hohman, Texas Tech University
“Changing Attitudes and Behaviors: An Integrated Attitude Ambivalence And Norm Approach”

Placeholder Image

October 29, 2021
Jiin Jung, Joey Wagoner, Benjamin Rosenberg, Tasha Stras, Andi Ruybal
Alumni Panel

Maureen Craig

November 9, 2021
Maureen Craig, New York University
“Beyond ‘Majority-Minority’: Presumed Coalitions and Intergroup Relations in a Diversifying Nation”

Placeholder Image

March 8, 2022
Nobert Semmer & Franziska Tschan, University of Bern and University of Neuchatel
“Communication and Coordination in Surgical Teams”

Placeholder Image

March 22, 2022
Jinghui Zhang & Eunice Choi, CGU
Dissertation Fair

Marilynn Brewer

April 19, 2022
Marilynn Brewer, UCSB
Interview-Life as an Academic

Grace Rivera

April 22, 2022
Grace Rivera, The University of Mississippi
“The Pervasive Influence of Culturally-Informed Lay Theories”

Katie Garrison

May 3, 2022
Katie Garrison, University of Alabama
“The Influence of Performance Incentives on the Subjective Experience of Mental Effort”