The social psychology group in the Department of Psychology at CGU calls its colloquium/symposium meetings “Social Socials” because they are doubly social—they are about social psychology and they are a social event that brings together faculty, graduate students, visitors and anyone who is interested in social psychology. We meet every two to three weeks during each semester, usually for an hour at lunch time (12 pm – 1 pm). Everyone with an interest in social psychology is welcome—we provide lunch and informative and interesting speakers on a wide variety of topics in social psychology. Social Socials are a balanced mix of basic and applied scientific presentations from distinguished social psychologists around the world. Each May we look forward to a “thesis fair” where social students who have just completed their master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation tell us about their research.

The Social Socials program is organized and run by a committee of social psychology graduate students: chaired by Ciara Hernandez (ciara.hernandez@cgu.edu), the committee also comprises Kaiyuan Chen (kaiyuan.chen@cgu.edu), Crystal Saludes (crystal.saludes@cgu.edu), Austin Shockley (austin.shockley@cgu.edu), Mary Peterson (mary.peterson@cgu.edu), and Rachelle Webb (rachelle.webb@cgu.edu). The faculty advisor is Professor Michael Hogg (michael.hogg@cgu.edu).

 

2022 – 2023 Schedule

Dr. Kate Sweeny

September 13, 2022
Dr. Kate Sweeny, University of California, Riverside
“How to Wait”

Dr. Yasemin Acar

October 4th, 2022
Dr. Yasemin Acar, University of Dundee
“Political Resistance in Turkey: How Resistance is Experienced and How it Has Changed in the Past Ten Years”

Dr. Charles T. Hill

October 26th, 2022
Dr. Charles T. Hill, Whittier College
“What Predicts Relationship Satisfaction Across Cultures?”

Dr. Efrén Pérez

December 6th, 2022
Dr. Efrén Pérez, University of California, Los Angeles
“Taking Stock of Solidarity Between People of Color: A Mini Meta-Analysis of 5 Experiments”

This page will update the Social Socials speaker schedule as we approach the scheduled dates of their talks, please check back for updates.